Burda Style 7136 Denim shirt in progress

I’ve been thinking about a denim shirt since the beginning of the year and it’s taken me till November to get around to it.

All pieces waiting for top stitching

All pieces waiting for top stitching

I found the lightweight denim at Ditto Fabrics, I was able to get a swatch first just to check it was the right weight for a shirt. The fabric was described as being ‘distressed’ but when it arrived some areas were a bit more distressed than others. There are some quite prominent lines but I’ve been able to cut these near the sleeve seams.

pattern front(1368 x 1824)

pattern back (1824 x 1368)

The pattern is Burda Style 7136. It’s styled more as a dress shirt but it had all the features I wanted. Slim fitting, back yoke, darts & chest pockets. I’m putting on two chest pockets and adding flaps. Pearl snaps seem to be the in thing at the moment on denim shirts. I’ve had a look on-line and I could have got some but then I needed a tool to apply as well so I found some buttons on Ebay, £5 for 20 inc P&P, which give a similar appearance which give the added bonus that when pearl buttons on denim shirts go out of fashion I could change them (like I’d ever bother…)

Tacked sleeve placket along with pocket and flap. The 'distressed' line looks more prominent in the photo than real life.

Tacked sleeve placket along with pocket and flap. The ‘distressed’ line looks more prominent in the photo than real life.

When I was transferring the pattern markings I used yellow wax paper. This stuff is great. It doesn’t seem to be available in the UK so I ordered from A Fashionable Stitch in the US. You use it with a serrated edge tracing wheel (not the spiked) and it leaves a perfect mark, but obviously not suitable for all fabrics.

Clover serrated tracing wheel and wax paper

Clover serrated tracing wheel and wax paper

bust dart marked using the wax tracing paper

bust dart marked using the wax tracing paper

Sewing is on hold at the moment as I need to buy some topstitching threads which I should be able to do tomorrow. I recently read a great post on topstitching by Yes I like That, 20 tips and before I start I’ll be re-reading all of them.

6 thoughts on “Burda Style 7136 Denim shirt in progress

    • Thanks! With the pockets I machine stitched on the 1.5cm seam allowance line and used this as a guide for pressing the seam allowance under. Also with it being 100% cotton it presses really well. It was the first time I had done this and it works better than trying to measure and press at the same time.

    • Thanks Fiona. With sewing I used to be all about the short cuts but now I seem to have more patience. I think reading other’s blogs and being on TSF helps as I have learnt so many new techniques.Top stitching threads now bought so can crack on this evening.

  1. Going to join the chorus here and say – yep that’s some neat work. 🙂
    I managed to get wax paper in the UK, at Fabricland. I saw it in John Lewis too – guess which one was a better deal? 🙂 But you’re sorted now anyway because that stuff does last. I think my mum had the same packet through my entire childhood and in all likelihood it’s still stashed away somewhere. Its great for tracing off patterns and copying stuff. OH. Don’t ever accidentally iron it. Just saying.

    • Thanks, I’m trying to take time to get things right first time and not cut corners.
      Great to know that the wax paper is available in the UK. Last summer when lot of TSF members were doing the Craftsy Susan K couture dress course there was a lot of talk of how to get hold of some.

Leave a Reply

