Cable Pattern Socks – and spot the mistake…..

As my first pair of socks was looking a bit plain and simple I felt I needed to try something new. After the success of the ribbed pair I decided on rib with a bit of cable.

cable socks (1669 x 1452)

So back to LOVE KNITTING for some wool. I fell for a 10% off offer but it was still more expensive than the other sock yarns I had bought. Then when it arrived I realised it needed size 3.25 needles rather than the 2.5 I had used on the previous two pairs so I needed to buy more needles.

I like the colour but it’s not quite a vivid as it was on-line which was a little bit disappointing. Looking back at the site I’m beginning to think I didn’t order what I thought or I was sent the wrong one. They are actually a lot more pinker than the photo shows. Here’s what I think I got.

cable socks 2 (1368 x 1824)

I didn’t use a pattern I just worked it out myself. I had learnt that the number of stitches you use must be divisible by 4. I was using a circumference of 56 stitches. To work out the rib and cable pattern I drew up a grid split numbered 1 – 28 for half the sock.

knit chart

I started off with a cuff of 1 x 1 rib for 12 rows. Initially I didn’t like the feel of the bigger needles after using the slimmer 2.5 size but I got used to it and with a bigger stitch the sock grew faster.

Spot the mistake.

left foot 3 ribs between cables, right foot 1 rib between cables

left foot 3 ribs between cables, right foot 1 rib between cables

The first sock knitted had 3 rows of ribbing between the two cables on the instep of the sock, the second only has one. It wasn’t until I was nearly at the end of the foot on the second sock that I noticed. I now realise it is the second sock that’s wrong. What must have happened is that when I started knitting the pattern after the cuff ribbing I’ve started on the wrong needle. Doh! But looking at them I think I prefer the sock with the mistake. And I was so proud of my chart!

Overall I’m a bit disappointed with the yarn. The colour is nice but not what I thought it was going to be. I think I prefer the smaller stitch and tension of the Regia 4ply.

It’s going to be socks for the children next. We took a trip to the local wool shop and despite me trying to suggest lovely subtle colours the 6 year old chose this. I’m going to need my sunglasses to knit!

flouro wool (1368 x 1824)

9 thoughts on “Cable Pattern Socks – and spot the mistake…..

  1. LOL. They are like Camper Shoes – ‘twins’. But still – don’t doubt your chart. Looks like you reverse engineered that pretty well. Full credit for design analysis there!

  2. They are beautiful socks, lovely. I hope to be able to knit like this someday. Respect to your 6 year old for her yarn choice, they will be very spectacular socksies indeed 😀

    • Seriously, they are not difficult. it’s getting over the fear of knitting on double pointed needles and getting your head around the shaping.Put socks on your new year to do list!

Leave a Reply

