Fluormania Socks In Progress And Measuring Feet For Socks

Socks for my six year old in the Regia 4ply fluormania are coming on well.

in progress (1620 x 2160)

I picked up the wool in my local wool haberdashery shop. I hadn’t paid much attention to their sock yarn offering thinking they didn’t have many but looking again there was a good selection with prices not much different to on-line and without the P&P.

When I first saw this ball of wool I thought it was horrendous and even after paying was saying to my daughter “are you sure you like this ….” How wrong I was, I love the colours especially the red going into the orange.

These are going to be knee length and to make sure these are a pair I need to start the second sock just where the orange starts going into the red.

The top starts 16 rows of 1×1 rib then the leg and instep are 2×2 rib with stocking stitch for the base of the sole and toe.

Measuring Feet for Socks
For her size foot I am knitting on 52 stitches. The first sock pattern I used from Viridian Yarns had the formula for working out how many stitches you need.
Measure around the ball of the foot in centimetres, multiply by 2.8 then take the nearest number divisible by 4.

e.g. ball of foot measured 17cm X by 2.8 = 49
I could have cast on 48 stitches but as I like to ensure my children’s clothes last as long as possible I went up to 52. Then obviously you just knit the lengths you want for the foot and ankle.

One sock is finished but the 2nd is on hold as I decided to knit a pair for my dad as a Christmas present. I started last Saturday and I’m now 2 inches into the second one, with 4 evenings of knitting time left I think I may just get them done.

This will probably be the last post of 2013, thank you for reading and a very merry Christmas!

11 thoughts on “Fluormania Socks In Progress And Measuring Feet For Socks

  1. These are such good fun! My dad wears the brightest socks – bright enough to be offensive. After some comments about it at his work, he gave his colleagues bright socks for Christmas. They were very well received. It’s become something of a tradition now, and he and Mum keep their eyes peeled during the year for really bright ones. I guess something doesn’t have to be strictly in ‘good taste’ to make you smile. And isn’t that more important anyway?

    Have a wonderful Christmas and Happy New year! Looking forward to seeing more of your creations in 2014, thank You for reading too – I have loved feeling I’ve had people to share with, and your support has been really encouraging! 🙂 Hurrah for Bloggers!

    • They are going to be pretty cool, she’s obviously got a better eye than me! The ones for my dad are much more subdued, lots of shades of blue in a really nice self patterning effect, I’ll get photos put up in the new year. Got to finish first….
      I’m enjoying writing the blog, it stretches me and makes me think more about what I make and how I construct it. You are right, it’s a great feeling when you know others have been interested enough to read and comment. Thank you very much and I look forward to seeing more from you (and how you make knits look so easy!) next year.

  2. They are going to be the best socks ever, I love the bright colours, they look good enough to eat!
    Have a wonderful Christmas and new year, I look forward to seeing next years makes.

  3. Amazing blog! Do you have any hints for aspiring
    writers? I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything.

    Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for
    a paid option? There are so many options out there that
    I’m completely confused .. Any ideas? Kudos!

    • Thanks!
      I chose wordpress as it is free, this is just a hobby so I didn’t want to incur any costs. So far this works fine for me. Good luck in what ever you choose.

Leave a Reply

