2013 Hits ……. and Misses

Lots of craft bloggers are reviewing their year with the hits and misses, here’s mine.
2013 has been one of my most productive years for a long time, there has been…
3 pairs of PJ bottoms
2 blouses
2 dresses
2 skirts
2 shirts
1 t-shirt
1 pair of boys trousers
4 pairs of socks
1 upcycled adults skirt into a girls dress

18 projects in total, 1.5 a month.

THE HITS
The top hits are the two dresses.
Butterick B5600 and the Kitschy Coo girl skater dress. The denim Butterick dress has had a lot of wear over the summer and is really comfortable. I’m sure there’ll be another version next year.  As for the girl skater dress it is one of her favourites.

Kitschy Coo girl skater dress

Kitschy Coo girl skater dress

The Burdastyle 7136 denim shirt was also a success. I wasn’t expecting it to turn out so well but I love it.

Burdastyle 7136 denim shirt

Burdastyle 7136 denim shirt

I’ve also re-discovered knitting, just socks so far and I was really pleased with my first pair.

First ever pair of socks.....

First ever pair of socks…..

And finally I got over the fear of sewing with knits and made up the Maria of Denmark Kimono Tee which gave me the confidence to make up the skater dress.

THE MISSES
It’s not finished, not sure it’ll ever be finished so the Sewaholic Robson Trench will have to be put down as a miss. It’s not past saving, I put a lot of work into those bound button holes so in the new year I will take another look.

Sewaholic Robson Trench Coat

Sewaholic Robson Trench Coat

Overall not bad really!
See you in 2014

4 thoughts on “2013 Hits ……. and Misses

  1. Isn’t it funny how blogging about making things (which technically increases the work) generates more enthusiasm for it? When I started I worried I wasn’t going to have enough ideas. Now I know I wont have enough time. But I do feel that my time is so much more productive. Time spent stitching trumps time spent on youtube/pinterest/facebook any day… and then I’m surprised when I realise how much I’ve done, although I think you’ve got a more impressive tally than mine… especially with 2 kids. I’m still an evolutionary dead end, so I should have oodles of time.

    Have you seen lladybird’s blog? (http://lladybird.com/) She made 86 things this year. 86! How?!

    I too have a half made coat. It’s become a running joke…. I think this is why I try not to tell people about what I’m currently making – only what I’ve made.

      • I do love knitting socks – I’ve not got much further than a basic stocking stitch or rib yet. There are loads of free patterns on the web and once you know what you are doing turning the heel they are really quite simple. It’s also something you can do when watching the telly.
        Give it a go and hoping to see a finished project soon.

    • As you say, writing a blog has made me more focused and given me more enthusiasm, especially to learn more techniques. I don’t watch much TV anymore or waste hours reading the ‘comment is free’ at the bottom of Guardian articles!
      I do sometimes look at Lladybird’s blog, 86 items! Wow, that is some going!
      The trench coat post gets a quite a few looks, it must come up in a google search so I do feel a bit rubbish leaving it half finished.

Leave a Reply

