Liebster Blog Award Nomination! (pass it on….)

I got a nice surprise last week, Fiona who writes the ‘Seams Straightforward’ blog nominated me for a Liebster blog award.

liebsterawardThis is a scheme to encourage people to find new blogs to read, which might otherwise be overlooked. The nominees need to have less than 500 follows – well that’s definitely me!

I have tried to google to find the origins of the Liebster blog awards but no luck. So it seems to me like a welcome chain letter. It’s lovely to be nominated and to be able to nominate others in return.

Fiona nominated 5 bloggers, check out her post for the other 4, and asked 5 questions.

Q1 How and when did you discover your love for sewing?

I started sewing when I was very young, encouraged by my mum.

Q2 Which 5 sewing patterns would you take to your Desert island, to sew and wear forever more – or at least until you were rescued?

I don’t think I could pick out 5, I’d just probably spend my time knitting socks but I’d definitely take the Sewaholic Renfrew.

Q3 Do you enjoy sewing for others, and if so for whom?

Yes, I enjoy sewing for my two children, 6 & 2.

Q4 Describe yourself to a stranger in 5 words.

I don’t want to really!

Q5 What was your biggest sewing success, and also your biggest sewing failure?

I made my wedding dress in 2010, that was the most challenging item I had sewn. There have been plenty of failures along the way. There’s not been any one thing that stands out but the Sewaholic Robson Trench could be shaping up to be an expensive unfinished project….

The blogs I’d like to nominate are

Make & Wear Chris does some great knitting and sewing projects

Short Stories of Shapely Seams You’ll find a wealth of information about sewing with knits here

Knitrun4sanity Knitting with lots of running and some fab jewellery making

Thanks again to Fiona for the nomination.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Liebster Blog Award Nomination! (pass it on….)

  1. Thanks for playing along Helen! I love seeing what you’ve been making, and I particularly admire your attention to detail and determination to get things absolutely right.
    Some lovely new blogs there for me to look at too.

  2. Ooh thanks Helen – that’s a really nice surprise! I’m definitely in the under 500 followers category lol! I made my own wedding dress too – definitely not a stress free option. But it kept everything within budget 🙂

  3. Thanks Helen,
    🙂 I really do appreciate it.
    I’ve been pondering this for weeks now, and have drafted a post about it several times over. Truthfully I’ve been so busy with everything this year I have fallen behind in reading other blogs (although I do keep up with yours). I will continue to ponder this.

    In the meantime, would you like the emu pattern?

      • I can’t see your message – I’ve tested the email contact form, but no luck. I’m a bit baffled as to why it hasn’t worked. Can you email me directly? shapelyseams[at]gmail.com

Leave a Reply

