Mending – Titchy Threads Small Fry Skinny Jeans

I dislike mending, I even find sewing on a button an be a bit of a chore and items tend to get left lying around for a while before they get fixed.

In just over two months my son has wore a hole in the knee of the corduroy titchy thread skinny jeans I made him during Kids Clothes Week at the end of January. I love these trousers. I think they are the most successful piece of children’s wear I’ve made and I still feel a little bit proud when he wears them. So, as the rest of the trousers are still in good nick and still fit they needed some knee patches.

knee hole (1368 x 1824)

To start with I put some iron on lightweight interfacing on both sides of the hole to stop it from fraying and getting any bigger.

interfacing to front and back to stop the hole getting any bigger

interfacing to front and back to stop the hole getting any bigger

I cut out an oval shaped template.

template for the patch size

template for the patch size

I added iron on lightweight interfacing to the back of the patches and I overlocked the edges of the patches and tacked them in to position.

edges of the patch overlocked and tacked on to the trousers

edges of the patch overlocked and tacked on to the trousers

I stitched them to the knees of the trousers using a small zig-zag stitch. I had doubts that I could get these under the machine with the narrow width of the legs but I did that thing I did when flat felling the underarm / side seams of a shirt where I don’t try to use the free arm of the machine but stitch inside having turned the legs inside out first. Not a very good explanation and difficult to photograph.

completed (1368 x 1824)

Hopefully the knees will last until he grows out of them.

When I made these earlier in the year I was able to use the free age 2 pattern. The next pair will be a bigger size and I have already bought the pattern of the full size range. Titchy Threads Skinny Jeans .

Even though the corduroy was a lovely fabric I think the next pair will be denim and I’ll add some knee patches at the start.

.Here’s the original post from when I first made the trousers

Here’s a link to my project page on KCW

 

Leave a Reply

