Completed Short Row Heel Socks

I finally got round to the second sock in the pair that I started in early April. I was learning to do a short row heel. The heel of the first sock was just about OK but I could see that I needed to tighten up my tension as the stitches were a bit loose.

Regia Mix It Color yarn knitted up with a short row heel

Regia Mix It Color yarn knitted up with a short row heel

So when knitting the heel of the second sock I took extra care to keep the yarn tight and it’s worked. Take a look at the photo, you can see difference between the two heels. I did think about unravelling the first sock but in the end I stitched up any loose areas.

The sock on the left is the first sock, you can see along the diagonal line in the heel the stitches are a bit loose. The sock on the right is the second sock which looks much better

The sock on the left is the first sock, you can see along the diagonal line in the heel the stitches are a bit loose. The sock on the right is the second sock which looks much better

The yarn is Regia Mix It! Color , I just love the pattern it creates. What I like so much is that on the second sock there is no measuring, just follow the pattern of the first sock – well, as long as you remember to start the second sock in the same place in the yarn! The body is just stocking stitch with 10 rows of 1 x 1 rib for the cuff.

I used this tutorial from www.cometosilver.com for the instructions for knitting the short row heel. I really recommend this as the instructions are so clear with great photos for each step.

At the moment I’m favouring the short row heel over the heel flap and gusset method.

woolly socks, a bit warm for a sunny day in June!

woolly socks, a bit warm for a sunny day in June!

It’s not really woolly sock wearing weather (well today anyway, tomorrow could be a different story) so my feet were pretty warm taking the photo!
Hopefully we’ll have a good summer and I can get them out to wear in the autumn.

 

8 thoughts on “Completed Short Row Heel Socks

  1. Very nice – I haven’t done a short row heel yet. My sock knitting has stalled lately since I’ve been using my knitting machine. I haven’t been watching much tv either so not as many chances to work on them:)

    • I shall compare the comfort of the short row heel V the flap when next wearing. But I think they will feel the same.
      I don’t have any knitting plans at the moment, summer looks like it is here so it doesn’t feel right to be knitting woolly socks.

Leave a Reply

