Dolly Couture! Barbie Gets A New Outfit

My daughter has been asking me for ages to make her dollies some new clothes and I have been putting it off as I couldn’t face doing something so fiddly. She reminded me that one of the contestants in this years Sewing Bee  (Tamara) made dolls clothes for her children so I was beginning to feel a bit mean spirited.

2014-09-07 16.36.48

I used some of the John Lewis Lucienne Day fabric that I had left over from the capped sleeve dress.

Barbie’s figure posed some problems, her waist is far too narrow and she’s quite chesty.

2014-09-07 16.38.11

The skirt is just a rectangle which has elastic zig zagged to the top edge. It’s a  bit loose around the waist as it was impossible for me to get the elastic tight enough and still fit over her hips. The top started off as a rectangle with a back opening. I added darts to the side seam and back sections and a dart at the top of each bust to get the shaping.  I closed the back with a strip of iron on Velcro trimmed down a narrow width.

2014-09-07 16.36.35

I’m quite impressed with my efforts.

Whilst at the machine my daughter said to me “I thought you said you couldn’t make dolls clothes?”
And now I’ve done it once I’m sure she’ll have lots more plans.

The original design brief for the dress

The original design brief for the dress

2 thoughts on “Dolly Couture! Barbie Gets A New Outfit

Leave a Reply

