Tilly And The Buttons Coco Top

The first project with the fixed overlocker has been the Coco from Tilly & the Buttons. I’ve had the fabric and pattern hanging around for a few months. Earlier in the year I spent ages trying to find a good quality yarn dyed Breton stripe fabric. I kept coming back to Dragonfly fabrics but not buying it  as £19.50 per metre seemed just too much to spend. When a 10% discount code came up I decided to go for it. I measured the pattern before I ordered and bought the bare minimum I needed, 1.30mts.

Tilly and the buttons Coco top

Tilly and the buttons Coco top

In fact I only just had enough fabric, if I hadn’t been able to cut my sleeves ‘upside down’ I would have been stuck. It took me ages to think of doing that! I obviously lost a few important cms in the pre-wash.

You get a really quality pattern for your £12.50. It’s printed on proper paper, not tissue and you get a colour photo booklet for the instructions.

I didn’t enjoy cutting this striped fabric out, it was making my eyes go funny! Despite all the thoughts a few months back about cutting mats and rotary cutters I still haven’t got around to getting them.

One tip in the instructions is to use some type of stabiliser around the neck edge to create a strong finish. It suggests fuse stay tape or hemming tape. I have some fusible knit interfacing from Sewbox. I applied a 1cm strip around the front and back neck edges.

fuseable interfacing applied to the neckline

fusible knit interfacing applied to the neckline

I used clear elastic to stabilise the shoulder seams and then stitched all seams using the 4 thread overlocker, it is so quick!

I used a zig-zag stitch to neaten the neck edge as suggested in the instructions. I didn’t think I’d like the look of this but it looks much better than I thought.

zig-zag stitching finishing the neckline

zig-zag stitching finishing the neckline

I fitted it before I hemmed the sleeves and body and didn’t like the way the hem had such an A line look to it. I wasn’t too sure about this when cutting out the pattern as the slope to the side is really obvious.   You can see from the finished garment on the pattern cover that it has this look.

original side seam shaping

original side seam shaping

I left out the side splits and took the side seams down to the hem trimming away some of the width. I also thought the top was too long and recklessly trimmed off 3inches. I don’t know what I was thinking, well, it was nearly midnight and I was determined to get it finished. The finished length isn’t too short but could have been longer. I must have chopped of £1.50 worth of fabric!

I also had to take out some width from the sleeves, an extra 1.5cm on to the current seam allowance.

I finished the hems with a zig-zag like the neck edge.

I had been anticipating making this for ages and when I finished I felt a bit flat. I had spent £12.50 on the pattern (plus what ever the P&P was) over £25 on fabric with P&P and was it worth it?
I’m a bit annoyed with myself for taking too much off the length but it’s in no way too short, I think that during the colder months I’ll just need to wear a vest underneath.

Since finishing I’ve worn it 3 times and I do really like it. The fabric is lovely and feels good quality. I love the shape of the neckline. I’m going to permanently adjust the pattern sleeve width and the width at the bottom edge –  first making sure I’m happy with the length 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Tilly And The Buttons Coco Top

    • Bell shaped – that’s a good description. I also thought slightly unflattering as the original length hit at the widest part of your hip. Overall I think it’s a good pattern and I can see it getting lots of use for relaxed fitting tees.

Leave a Reply

