Blog Hop!

You may have noticed there’s a bit of a Blog Hop going around at the moment.

Thank you very much to Chris over at Make and Wear for including me in her nominations.

I have been challenged with a few questions….

Why do I write?

I started reading sewing blogs a couple of years ago. I wanted to be part of the community, I began to leave comments then after a while I felt confident to begin blogging myself. I love reading other’s blogs. I have learnt so much and found new patterns I would have never otherwise heard about. I really enjoy the process of writing up projects and documenting them. I also like putting a bit of your own personality on the page!

What am I working on?

I’m currently knitting a pair of Hermione’s Everyday Socks. In fact this was a pattern I found from reading Chris’s blog. I’ve leant a couple of new techniques on this pair. It’s the first time I have done toe up so I had to learn the casting on technique and also a super stretchy cast off method for the cuff – which I learnt the hard way…..

colour blocked Hermione everyday socks, toe up with a short row heel

colour blocked Hermione everyday socks, toe up with a short row heel

My next sewing project will be a Sewaholic Renfrew with the cowl neck. I have just pre-washed some wool mix single jersey and hope to get sewing in the next few days. I’m looking forward to it as I’ll be able to sew it all up using the overlocker.

How does my blog differ from others in its genre?

I’m not sure I’m much of a trailblazer and tend to follow the format of make something then blog about it! But I do sometimes cut my own patterns so I try to illustrate how I create the pattern from the basic blocks. I find the artworks for this a bit slow but I’ve find that using Microsoft Excel works best for me as I don’t have access to programmes such as Adobe Illustrator at home.

How does my writing  process work?

I do try and plan ahead with posts. I have a notebook where I scribble down my ideas of what I would like to make in the coming months and try to put down a realistic time scale. I’d like to post once a week but I’m finding it’s working out at 3 or maybe 4 times a month. I try to remember to take photographs whilst I go along and when the project is finished write it up.

Nominations

I’d like to nominate Zoe who blogs at Make Stuff Do Stuff. Zoe is great with sewing with knits and pattern making for knits. I only plucked up the courage to start sewing with knits just over a year ago and now there is no looking back. I picked up some great tips from her blog. Zoe also made her own most beautiful wedding dress.

Since joining the RTW Fast in January this year I’ve come across some great blogs from others who are fasting. Evolution of a Sewing Goddess is one I like to see pop up in my inbox. I love Andrea’s style and her projects using independent pattern companies. I especially like this dress and she takes some great pictures too!

Hop on over to take a look at my nominees 🙂

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Blog Hop!

Leave a Reply

