Hermione’s Everyday Socks – Toe Up, With A Little Help From Judy and Jenny

I am so pleased with these; they have turned out exactly how I imagined.

Hermione's Everyday Socks, toe up with a short row heel

Hermione’s Everyday Socks, toe up with a short row heel

The yarn was from Five Moons. 75% superwash merino 25% nylon. It was first time I have used them. My order arrived the next day with a gift of a 5gm mini skein. The colours I used were Raincloud and Miss Scarlet.

hand painted yarn from Five Moons. It just looked so beautiful when I unwrapped the package!

hand painted yarn from Five Moons. It just looked so beautiful when I unwrapped the package!

The pattern is the ‘Hermione everyday socks’  which I have knitted before, using a short row heel. I used 2.5mm double pointed bamboo needles.

The grey was a 50gm skein and the red 20gms. Normally I buy 100gms to knit a pair of socks but usually have quite a bit left over so I took a chance that 70gm would do the job. As I knew it was going to be tight I thought that toe up would be the sensible way to knit the socks – as you have flexibility with the leg length but the foot length must be right. I divided each ball into two. I’m lucky to have access to fabric weighing scales at work so with the 50gms I rolled into two balls and weighed before I separated.

Toe up is new for me. After a search of You Tube I came across ‘Judy’s magic cast on’. I struggled a bit to start with and had to put it down and come back to it the next evening. A lot of the knitting tutorials like this use bigger needles and thicker yarn as it makes it easier and clearer to demonstrate.  When I tried again I used slightly bigger needles just to cast on and this time it worked out.

knitting toe up using Judy's magic cast on

knitting toe up using Judy’s magic cast on

I used the short row heel again; I think for a colour blocked heel it’s going to be the only way. I learnt on my first pair that you need to keep your yarn tight when wrapping the stitches. I followed this tutorial from ‘come to silver’.

I knitted the leg the full length of 25gm ball and finished with 15 rows of 1×1 rib. I was near to the end of casting off the first sock when I realised that there wasn’t much stretch in the opening. I unpicked the cast off and started again trying to keep some slack. I could get it on my foot – just, and realised there must be a better method. After a Google search I found ‘Jenny’s surprisingly stretchy bind off’. I don’t know why I didn’t look after the first attempt! This involves creating a new stitch next to each stitch whilst casting off. You can see the difference in stretch in the photo below.

Top sock shows the limited amount of stretch in the normal cast off. The bottom sock shows the stretch cast off method

 

The top sock shows the standard cast off method and the bottom sock shows the stretch cast off method

When I cast on the second sock I was able to use the smaller needles and remember the method from memory. I finished the second sock with the new cast off method then went back and unpicked the cast off from the first sock and re-did it. Luckily I hadn’t cut the tail from casting off and it was long enough to include the extra stitches I needed (I took a chance with this and only just made it 🙂 ).

Toe up or cuff down – I like both methods, I think the toe up has been more of a challenge for me and it’s definitely the way to go if you have a limited amount of yarn.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Hermione’s Everyday Socks – Toe Up, With A Little Help From Judy and Jenny

Leave a Reply

