Sewaholic Cowl Neck Renfrew

This Sewaholic Renfrew was such a quick make. I cut it out one evening and then stitched it up the next evening which took 1 ¾ hours. I used the 4 thread overlocker for all stitching except for attaching the clear elastic to the shoulder seams and the zig zag top stitch around the neck edge.

Wool mix Sewaholic cowl neck Renfrew

Wool mix Sewaholic cowl neck Renfrew

The fabric is a wool mix single jersey, 70% wool, 27% cotton, 3% spandex, which I found whilst browsing My Fabrics. It was on sale at £4 per metre so I bought 1.5mt. It’s quite a lightweight jersey, lighter than a tee- shirt weight and as such this top needs to be worn with a black bra. I didn’t quite know what to expect when I ordered it but at that price I couldn’t go wrong. The washing instructions were to handwash so I pre-washed it using the wool wash on my machine, I never handwash if I can get away with it.

zig zag topstitching around Renfrew cowl neck

zig zag topstitching around Renfrew cowl neck

One change I made to the pattern was that I cut the cowl neck all in one piece. The cowl is made from a double layer of fabric with a seam along the top edge and one seam down the centre back. The pattern piece does have a bit of shaping along the top edge, it curves downwards slightly but I didn’t think it would be noticeable if the seam was replaced by fabric on the fold. You do end up with a whopping big pattern piece which I can see in some cases wouldn’t be good for fabric layout but as I had enough to work with it was OK.

I was going to machine tack, using the biggest stitch on my normal machine, but I was too impatient. Everything went together perfectly and I did special care to make sure there was no fabric getting caught in the overlocker which shouldn’t be. I’m sure all overlocker owners have done this at some point 😦

I took 2cm off the length of the sleeves then took off another 1cm after fitting and before I attached the cuffs.

The fabric has great drape is well suited to the cowl neck. Despite the lightweight it is lovely and warm. A plain black top can be a bit boring but I have at least 3 patterned skirts with black in and needed a top to go with them. It looks great with this Liberty jersey skirt.

8 thoughts on “Sewaholic Cowl Neck Renfrew

    • You are right, I think I’m going to get a lot of wear out of this over the winter – wearing today in fact. I have already put in on back to front, I couldn’t see where the seam was! I think I need to put labels in the back neck of my t-shirt type tops.

    • This is a top I’m sure I’m going to get a lot of mileage out of over the winter. I hate handwashing and will only do it if really really needs to be!

Leave a Reply

