Ponte Roma Soft Pleat Skirt

After the success of the ponte roma lady skater dress I ordered more ponte fabric to make a skirt. The plan was to make a skirt to wear with the bird print shirt which so far has only been worn once as I felt I didn’t have the right thing to wear with I but I’m not sure I’ve successfully fulfilled my brief.

Ponte Roma Pleated Skirt

Ponte Roma Pleated Skirt

When I ordered the fabric I shyed away from getting a bright red and played safe and went for a wine colour. The fabric was from The Textile Centre on e-Bay at £3.49 per metre.

I really liked the fabric when it arrived, it has lovely drape but it’s a funny thing. When I’m looking at the fabric and finished skirt I like it but when I’m thinking about it I think it looks a bit cheap and synthetic, so I go back and take a look and realise it looks fine. Does anybody else get those doubts about fabrics?

I used a self drafted pattern that I made earlier this year for this denim skirt. It’s quite a simple draft which I wrote about in this post. The denim version of this skirt has had loads of wear since it has been made.

The pattern works fine for both wovens and knits but I did find the ponte roma gave a lot more bulk around the pocket bags and the top of the pleats.

tonal decorative stitch around the pocket openings and waistband seam

tonal decorative stitch around the pocket openings and waistband seam

I didn’t think that this fabric was going give a nice top stitch so I  tried a decorative stitch using a tonal thread and was pleasantly pleased with the results. I used this for the pocket openings and the lower edge of the waistband. I thought adding to the top edge of the waistband would be too much so after pressing the seam allowance I understitched it with a zig zag stitch.

zig-zag understitching at the inner waistband

zig-zag understitching at the inner waistband

I didn’t have an invisible zipper to hand so I used a normal zipper and ‘double lapped’ it , if that’s the term. I did this by sewing the seam where the zipper would be with the biggest straight stitch, then pinned the zipper in place and stitched it in then unpicked the stitches from the seam.

I was a bit unsure how to handle the waistband, I used knit interfacing on one side but on the other to prevent too much stretch I used a narrow strip of normal fusible interfacing along the seam line.

The vertical seams were sewn with a standard straight stitch and I used the stretch stitch for the horizontal waistband seams and all using a ball point needle.

I overlocked the bottom edge of the skirt and hand stitched up a 2.5cm deep hem. But I need to do it again. When I was taking photos I took one of the back view and it was only then I noticed the centre back hem was about 2cm shorter than the front. So, I need to unpick and even the hem off properly this time. It’s not too much of a disaster but I will have to loose a little bit of length from the front. That’s what you get for rushing the hem and being too gung ho with the scissors.

back of the skirt - without showing the terrible hem issue!

back of the skirt – without showing the terrible hem issue!

Looking at the photos of the skirt it looks much better than I think it does. As I say though, I’m not sure if I’ve made the perfect garment to accompany the shirt.

But hey! I now have a rotary cutter and A1 sized self healing mat and this was the first time I used them. I also managed to draw blood the first time I used it, only a tiny nick, that blade is really sharp!

rotary blade with self healing mat along with soup tins for weights

rotary blade with self healing mat along with soup tins for weights

 

15 thoughts on “Ponte Roma Soft Pleat Skirt

    • The fabric was quite cheap as well which makes me think it’s not good but that isn’t always the case. Once I sort the hem out I can see it being quite versatile.

  1. I love it, and I also noticed the decorative top stitch before I read about it! I love your finishing of projects, always so careful. I think it goes very nicely withthe shirt too.

    • Thanks Fiona, I’m glad I didn’t try a straight stitch as top stitch as I don’t think it would have worked well on this knit fabric. After years I’m just discovering the different stitches on my machine other than straight and zig zag!

    • Thanks, I can see it getting a lot of wear with the black cowl neck Renfrew I made a few weeks back. I don’t have time to sort the hem this week but must do it next week or else it will get left on the sewing pile.

  2. It’s a lovely colour. I find I get funny about fabrics. Sometimes I’ll buy a ‘special’ fabric and then hoard it for so long I get bored with it before I even make it up. Sometimes I’ll make something in a fabric I’m indifferent about and end up loving it. I guess you never really know until you try. From an outsider perspective, there’s no need to be concerned about the fabric. It works.

    PS. My rotary cutter scares the living peep out of me. I get heart palpitations and have to check I’ve put the lock on it multiple times because I’m worried I will pick it up accidently and cause serious damage, or drop it on my foot, or slip. Eek.

    • The fabric does have a nice drape and doesn’t look too ‘synthetic-y’. I think I have a problem with polyesters and nylons thinking they can look cheap in comparison to natural fibres and that really isn’t the case.
      When I nicked myself with the cutter I didn’t feel it at all, I just noticed the blood. Super sharp!

    • I think once I’ve sorted the hem it will get a lot of wear. I’ve earmarked Monday evening to get it done. The draft isn’t perfect and next year I’d like to improve my skills. Problem is I just want to get to the sewing rather than making toiles and adjusting patterns etc!

    • Thanks, sorry for late reply. I’ve been away with work with no access to WordPress. I wasn’t quite sure about this skirt but I took it away with me and it’s proving really versatile. I just need to sort my hand stitching out. First wear and the hem is coming undone.

Leave a Reply

