Jeans – The Last Mile Is The Hardest Mile…….

The jeans are finished all bar the rivets.

attaching rivets (1368 x 1824)

As I planned there were two final evenings of sewing. Putting on the waistband and then belt loops and hemming. I was glad to get to the end of the sewing, at times the top stitching had really tried my patience.

I had originally planned to make a two piece shaped waistband but in the course Prof Kenneth cuts a straight piece and shapes with the iron. I thought I’d give it a go. Because my fabric had 3% elastane I stitched a length of organza selvedge to the centre fold inside to prevent the top edge stretching out. It seems to have worked ok but I think next time I’ll try a two piece to ensure I get the right amount of shaping.

Straight waistband after being curved with the iron

Straight waistband after being curved with the iron

Applying the jeans button was fine except that because my fly zip guard wasn’t as wide as it should have been the button is quite close to the edge.

With the fly guard not being wide enough the button had to be positioned quite close to the edge

With the fly guard not being wide enough the button had to be positioned quite close to the edge

The last job was applying the rivets. I was really pleased with my eBay rivets £1.69 for 10 but I hadn’t thought about how they were going to be applied. They had quite a protruding knob in the middle which made me think that hitting them directly with a hammer wasn’t going to work. I found a tool in my husband’s workshop which had a hole in which would fit over but I’d still be able to hit the edges. Unfortunately this didn’t work as the post of the rivet would burst out of the front.

Damaged Rivets

Damaged Rivets

I had come across a post by Taylor Tailor who recommends cutting circles of denim to add thickness before whacking. I managed to apply one OK-ish but when I tried again the cap wouldn’t stay put or the post would come through the front.

By this time my stress levels were going through the roof. I only had 10 rivets and I needed 6 good ones.

At this point my husband said some wise words “if you’re not happy you’re not going to do a good job”. So I put the hammer down and pulled out the rivet that was in and chucked them in the bin.

Back to the internet and I came across this post from Fehr Trade. (Why don’t I research things properly first?)  After a night thinking about rivets I decided to order some from the US supplier recommended to get some decent ones. Overseas orders need to be a minimum of $25, so I ordered 100 rivets and 10 jeans buttons – sounds a lot but I do have plans for more jeans.

I’m not considering these finished until those rivets are in. They’re hanging up in the wardrobe waiting; every so often I get them out and take a look as I’m really proud of them, the fit is spot on. The top stitching could be better and the coin pocket placement is a bit off but other than that I’d say they were a success.folded jeans (1368 x 1824)

I think the Craftsy Jeanius course is great and would recommend it to anyone. My only comment is to look out for the price. I paid £12.50 on Black Friday, it’s currently at £19 reduced from £29.

I’m hoping the rivets arrive before the Easter weekend so I can start wearing and do a proper ‘finished post’.

The coin pocket position could have been better.... and you can see the holes waiting for the rivets

The coin pocket position could have been better…. and you can see the holes waiting for the rivets

16 thoughts on “Jeans – The Last Mile Is The Hardest Mile…….

  1. Looking good! I never noticed the coin pocket until you pointed it out. How picky our we sewers?! I would have done the same as you if they were mine but I don’t look for the slightly not right things in other bloggers! Hope your parcel arrives soon! 😀

    • I’m planning on adjusting this pattern to a skinny fit pair. My current skinnies are fine around the legs but these jeans fit better at the waist. I may give myself some time off before rushing into another pair!

    • I have no idea when the rivets will arrive, hopefully not too long. I could wear them with out but I’d know they weren’t properly finished, especially as I’ve made some of the holes.

Leave a Reply

