Sew Over It Pussy Bow Blouse – Number Two

I made my first ‘Sew Over It’ Pussy Bow Blouse back in January. I had some issues with attaching the neck tie but in general I thought is was a successful make. But it didn’t last long and ended up in the bin after a handful of washes. I must have trimmed the seam allowances inside the tie too close and the ends of the tie began to fray and overall it just looked a bit of a mess.

Sew Over It Pussy Bow Blouse

Sew Over It Pussy Bow Blouse

The first problem I had when making the navy blouse was that the front neck edge stretched and I didn’t check the length of this seam before I stitched up the neck tie and attached it. It was a bit of a bodge job at the centre front. So the first thing I did when I cut out the red blouse was to stay stitch the front edges using a small stitch length to avoid any stretching and lengthening of the seam. Then before I attached the neck tie I double checked that the opening in the neck tie measured the same as the front pieces I needed to attach it to and this time it was all spot on. I also made sure when I trimmed the seam allowance inside the neck tie I didn’t trim too close to the stitches.

Pussy Bow Blouse A bit fumpy?

Pussy Bow Blouse
A bit fumpy?

I annoyed myself by making the mistake of cutting the pieces for the bow upside down, it’s hardly noticeable and if I really wanted to I could have cut out the pieces again.

The fabric I used was a light weight drapey viscose print that I found on e-bay, a complete bargain at £2.99 per metre. Even though it is not mentioned in the listing there was a couple of tiny flaws in the print but I was able to avoid these when cutting out.

Pussy Bow Blouse Cuff Detail

Pussy Bow Blouse Cuff Detail

I wasn’t too sure of what I thought of this when I finished and first tried it on but seeing the pictures I’ve warmed to it a bit more but it’s yet to have it’s first wear out. In the pictures I’m wearing it with the denim skirt I made a few weeks back but it just seems a bit frumpy with it. I haven’t yet tried it with a slimmer skirt or jeans I think that may be the answer.

12 thoughts on “Sew Over It Pussy Bow Blouse – Number Two

  1. It’s a beautiful blouse, I think it would work better with a straighter skirt like you said, or left untucked with slim leg jeans and a blazer. It’s a lovely fit and the print suits you. Also thanks for the eBay link – I’ve spotted a pointe knit that I might buy!

  2. I really, really like this blouse. The fabric is so pretty close up but the effect from a slight distance is just great too. You have chosen the perfect fabric for this blouse, and it works well with your skirt.

    • It’s always a bit of a risk when you buy fabric on-line. I knew I was looking for a viscose to get the drape that was needed. If it washes well £2.99 is a complete bargain1

    • I need to try it with Jeans, my office has a quite relaxed dress code and sometimes I don’t feel like wearing something ‘different’ or stand out too much.

Leave a Reply

