Rainbow Sleeves Completed – Then Completely Losing The Will To Do Anything Craft Related…..

Back at the end of April I mentioned I was a week away from completing the sleeves to the rainbow striped jumper I was knitting. I got these finished at the beginning of May and then the rest of the month was rubbish.

My 86 year old father went into hospital on the 2nd May. He had many health issues and sadly I wasn’t expecting him to come home. It’s an 80 mile round trip to my parents home and the hospital. Combining the visiting with my mothers health problems, working and two young children it was quite a stressful time. He died on the 19th May.

Then as the world knows my home city of Manchester suffered the horrendous terrorist attack on the 22nd. Thankfully nobody I know was injured but I returned to work yesterday to find out that the sister, brother-in-law and 8 year old niece of a colleague were injured.

Then to add to the general low mood we were told on the 25th May that the office I work in is to be shut down and relocating to another area of the country. As a family we are not wanting to relocate, it’s further north for a start and further away from extended family. So it looks like redundancy for me. We haven’t been given a time scale for the shut down but likely to be early next year. I have been in this job for 13 years and the thought of going to interviews and starting somewhere new is really scary.

So I have completely lost the will do anything. I don’t feel like picking up the knitting, I have two pieces of fabric I planned to sew but can’t muster up any enthusiasm.

Back to the jumper. I don’t know how I feel about it. Knitting with the sport weight wool on 3mm needles is just a drag. It takes so long. I’m not sure that I like what I have knitted. But looking at the photos I took a few weeks back I think it’s not that bad. But I don’t feel excited enough to continue knitting.

rainbow sleeve

Frustratingly the sleeves are a few cms too long as well. I not sure that I want to spend another 6 weeks (at least) knitting the front and back and then still not really liking it. I also under estimated how much yarn I’d need for the stripes. I bought one of each colour 10gm mini ball thinking that would be fine but I it looks like I’ll need to buy another set.

rainbow jumper sleeve on body

I’m away next week with work so I’ll see how I feel when I get back. The thing is that I know that immersing myself in some making will be good for me but it’s just getting started….

18 thoughts on “Rainbow Sleeves Completed – Then Completely Losing The Will To Do Anything Craft Related…..

  1. Gosh, you have had a hard month. I’m so sorry, especially about your father. Take some time to do nothing. Your crafts, and your readers, will be here when you are ready.

  2. What a month…so sorry to hear the news about your Dad, you’ll need time to process plus your Mum will need support. I too was made redundant after 17 years in my job but you will be ok, you’ll forge on, go to interviews and get a lovely new job. Things change Helen, its just something we have to live with, embrace it and you’ll immediately feel better.
    Love to every citizen in Manchester from us here in Sheffield.
    Andrea x

    • Thank you for your comment. I know, things change and you just have to get on with it! I think I have about 6 months before I need to find a new job so I have time to get used to the idea and see what’s out there

  3. So sorry to hear of your loss Helen. Your lack of motivation is completely understandable, especially with the added worry of your work situation. I hope everything works out for you.
    With regard to your knitting, I think it looks fantastic and exactly like your inspiration jumper. The small gauge gives it a very neat tension, and the colours work really well together. Do you think you’d have enough yarn if you left the back plain? For the sleeves, I’ve been know to treat my knits like fabric and just stitch out any excess – could you sew a seam between the cuff and sleeve to remove some length?

    • Thank you. Thanks also for the knitting tips. It’s not a problem to order some more of the 10gm balls, they are 75p each but need to order with something else so I don’t get stung on P&P. Also a good tip about putting a seam at the cuff ribbing to shorten the sleeves. I have cast on the stitches for a body piece so I think I’ll try to get motivated again with it. I’m on a business trip next week so I’ll put it in my case and I usually find knitting is a distraction from jet lag!

  4. Hi Helen,
    So sorry for your loss, my heart goes out to you.
    I believe your creativity will be there for you when you are ready for consolation.
    Your rainbow stripes jumper will look fabulous when it is done and it will be done in its own time.

    • Thanks, I’m sure it won’t be long until the creative urge comes back. I think the jumper will come together slowly over the next few months…..

  5. So very sorry to hear about the loss of your Dad and your Mom’s health. I wish you well on those things that are challenging you right now, but being the steadfast and strong person that I read that you are, you will get through this. If not the sewing crafts, find something that will help you focus on things a little bit lite and less needy. Reading, walking, cooking, praying, anything that you find comfort in and don’t have to think so much. I wish you well and my prayers are with you.

  6. Dear Helen

    I am sorry to hear about your loss and all the other things that have happened in such a short space of time. Make sure that you look after yourself and follow your instincts.If you don’t feel like knitting do what you feel like doing.Just one of those things would be hard enough to cope with.

    Take care
    Teresa

    • Thanks Teresa, sorry for late reply as I was travelling with work for a week, back home and getting over the jet lag! The weather in the UK is beautiful which is making everything seem much better.

  7. Sorry Helen to read of your troubles. It’s very tough to lose your dad and then your job too. You must be upset and exhausted. I too LOVE the jumper. It is so cheery. I hope things improve soon.

    • Thanks, sorry for late reply, I’ve been travelling with work. I did take the knitting with me but didn’t pick it up but I do think I’ll carry on with it. I’ve come back and had a bit of a wardrobe clear out and need to find gaps that need filling, either me made or RTW.

  8. So sorry that you are having a difficult time. I hope that it resolves itself soon. With time you will feel better about your dad but it is so sad.

    Teresa

    • Thanks Teresa, I have quite a few months before the job ends so I think I’m slowly coming to terms with it. As for my dad his last few years were not happy with poor health so I feel his ordeal is over. On a positive note I’m feeling interested in beginning a new project!

  9. I’m so sorry to hear about your various traumas. Having one of those things is hard enough but when they group together like that it’s so overwhelming! I hope you find some peace soon and things slow down enough for you to enjoy creating something. I agree that the starting of something is so hard sometimes. Prayers for you.

    • Thanks for your comment, yes overwhelming is a good word for it all!
      We are having some beautiful weather in the UK which is lifting my spirits!

Leave a Reply

